Start with a list!

I do love a good list, especially at this time of year when it’s customary for music lovers everywhere (well on Twitter at least) to announce their top 10/50/100 of the year. Well, I’m no different and I’ll be honest one of the appeals of starting a blog was it’s a lot easier to do it on a blog than when you’re limited to 140 characters.

In total I acquired 72 albums in 2016, 44 from released in the year (most of them were bought, some were, ahem, gifts) and attended 31 gigs; maybe I’ll post up my spreadsheets on here at some point, but that’s probably a bit much for a first post. So, here goes, my top 10 albums and gigs of 2016 (in no particular order), let me know what you think:-

Top 10 Albums of 2016:-

  • SviiiB- School of Seven Bells
  • Black Star – David Bowie
  • The Ship – Brian Eno
  • Why Are You OK? – Band of Horses
  • Here – Teenage Fanclub
  • Junk – M83
  • On Dead Waves – On Dead Waves
  • In The Shadow of Monuments – Vile Electrodes
  • No Further Ahead Than Today – Ulrich Schnauss
  • The Dear One – Baltic Fleet

Top 10 gigs of 2016:-

  • Ulrich Schnauss, The Rainbow Birmingham
  • Phosphorescent, Moseley Folk Festival
  • Michael Rother, Under the Bridge London
  • OMD, RAH London
  • Graham Nash,Town Hall Birmingham
  •  Mogwai,  Coventry Cathedral
  • Cavern of Anti-matter, Hare & Hounds Kings Heath
  • Marsheaux, Epic Studios Norwich
  • Teenage Fanclub, O2 Institute Birmingham
  • Slow Readers Club, Sunflower Lounge Birmingham

Hopefully I’ll be a bit more expansive in future posts (if there any), but that’ll do for now.

2 thoughts on “Start with a list!

  1. Congratulations on your first blog – I’ve been looking forward to reading your annual Top 10 lists!

    A particularly impressive total of gigs attended and I was pleased to see The Slow Readers Club featuring in the Top 10. Thought you might have picked out a performance from Latitude – maybe The National?

    No real arguments on your album list. Tennage Fan Club was a recent purchase for me and definitely worth a place in the Top 10. I probably wouldn’t have expected M83 to appear, if you had compiled this earlier in the year, but it is a ‘grower’ – although no place for Bears Den?

    I expect Depeche will feature heavily in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

